Skip to Content

Bridging the Healthcare Gap in Sonoma County

Bridging the Healthcare Gap is implemented by Operation Access. Operation Access serves low-income, uninsured Bay Area residents living in Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano and Sonoma counties. Typical services coordinated through Operation Access are hernia repair, cataract and pterygium removal to prevent blindness, and targeted colonoscopy to prevent colon cancer. Operation Access has volunteer capacity to provide services including, but not limited to: general and specialized surgery, gastroenterology, gynecology, orthopedics, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, and urology. Through Operation Access, private sector medical resources are organized for maximum efficiency and effectiveness, with the goal of treating patients as close to home and as quickly as possible. Operation Access is able to supplement limited local specialty resources by navigating clients to specialists in other counties due to its extensive network of specialists, hospitals and ambulatory care centers throughout the Bay Area.

Accepted to the Portfolio: August 2016

Target Outcomes

Short Term Outcomes

  • Streamline access to culturally competent car
  • High volume of volunteer specialists available to efficiently meet local demand for services
  • Access to local resources in a timely fashion and report to appointments prepared and on time

Long Term Outcomes

  • Integrated, regional specialty care network that improves care coordination and adds value to the local safety net
  • Strengthened culture of medical volunteerism and community benefit in partnership with local hospitals and medical professionals
  • Increase in resolution of heath conditions
  • Reduced and prevented health emergencies
  • Reduced time off work
  • Improved quality of life 

Target Population


  • Early childhood (0 - 5)
  • Youth (6 - 15)
  • Transitional age youth (16 - 24)
  • Adult (25 - 60)
  • Older adult (60+)

Service Area


  • Southeast (District 1)
  • Southwest (District 2)
  • Central (District 3)
  • Northeast (District 4)
  • Northwest (District 5)